Posted by: Toni | August 24, 2009

Another week and another weekend…

gone by.  School starts tomorrow and I think we are ready!

There has been a lot going on here.  I did some sewing, some golfing, some fishing, some birthdaying, some cleaning and now it’s back to reality and work.  I took off last week to spend time with my kids to prepare for school.

I have been basting away on my Applique Affair project.  Actually I’ve done a lot of handwork in the evenings when watching tv with the hubby.  I only have about 200 hexagons to baste on my other project!

I decided to put away my halloween project.  It is just too busy.  I love the concept of the design, but I should have used a more solid purple verses the starry one I put with the stripes.  I don’t think I’ll ever finish that one – don’t be surprised if it ends up in your mail box someday.

DSC08328

I did more clearing of my sewing area (YAH!) and finally got my design wall back up!  It really makes a difference in my attitude to sew!  So, I put up my new “quick to finish top” and plan to have it together this week:

DSC08418

And I did turn on my machine this weekend and did a tiny paper piecing project for the shop.  There is actually 2 in this kit, but I started with this sand bucket first-it’s only 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ square:

DSC08420

I have lots more pictures to share, none that involve quilting 🙂  I’ll save those for posts throughout the week.  Time to get ready for my day.

Responses

  1. Glad to see that you are back. Almost emailed you last night. Is your halloween project a quilt or a runner? From the pic it looks like a runner. My daughter loves halloween so pass it along to me, I will finish it. LOL
    off to the 1st day with kids. we’ll chat later.

  2. I like the Halloween quilt. Busy is fine with a project like this. Anyone would be happy to own it…finish it and then give as a gift!

  3. Great projects. love that little sand bucket!! Where did summer go?

  4. I think the halloween quilt is a keeper, too cute. That is certainly a tiny little paper pieced project.

  5. Hi Toni,
    You have been very busy and creative. Love all the things you’re working on. As for back-to-school……….all I can say from a teacher’s prospective is, gosh, is it time to go back already……is my room ready…….do I have all the students names spelled correctly……….where’s my sign-in sheet…….hehehehehehehehe. Sorry, I just had a flashback. Take care.

  6. Oh, finish it! It’s so darn cute, but if not auction it to your readers, there would be many takers, me included 🙂
    Your quick project looks great too! Hope all is well with you!!

  7. I love your Halloween project…I think it is just right for that holiday. Don’t give up on it.

  8. I love the halloween quilt. I wish my Mother would do more halloween.


Leave a Reply

Categories

